Acknowledgements

This Malawi Poverty Reduction Strategy Paper (MPRSP) is the result of an extensive participatory process, involving stakeholders from all sections of Malawian society. A list of organisations involved is contained in Annex 6C.

The MPRSP process was led by the Ministerial Committee, which provided political and policy directives. This Committee consisted of the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning as Chairperson, the Deputy Minister of Finance and Economic Planning, the Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation, the Minister of Health and Population, the Minister of Education, Science and Technology, the Minister of Transport and Public Works, the Director General of the National Economic Council and the Governor of the Reserve Bank of Malawi.

Policy level advice and overall management of the process was provided by the National Steering Committee of Principal Secretaries, whose membership reflected that of the Ministerial Committee. This Committee was guided by the Secretary to the Treasury with day-to-day leadership provided by Dr. Maxwell Mkwezalamba, as the National MPRSP Co-ordinator. Members of the National Steering Committee included Mr. C. Chuka, Mrs. A. Mchiela, Mr. A. Gomani, Mr. T. Odala, Dr. R. Pendame and Dr. H. Ng'ombe.

The MPRSP process was co-ordinated on a technical level by the Technical Committee, drawn from the National Economic Council, the Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning, and the Reserve Bank of Malawi. The Technical Committee was originally chaired by the late Mr. K. Mkangama, who was succeeded by Mr. G. Zimalirana. Other members of the Technical Committee included Mr. P. Kamwendo, Mr. T. Sitimawina, Mr. P. Kabambe, Mr. C. Simwaka, Mr. B. Botolo, Mr. L. Kachikopa, Mrs. P. Zimpita, Mr. E. Goneka, Mr. K. Mulwafu and Mr. T. Leeming. They were supported in their work by a dedicated support staff led by Mrs. B. Chatata and Mrs. C. Madula.

The strategy is based on the submissions from the 21 Thematic Working Groups, led by relevant Ministries with membership from Government, Parliament, NGOs, faith based organisations, academia, employers associations and the donor community. A list of the members of the Thematic Working Groups is contained in Annex 6C.

The document itself was drafted and refined by a team drawn from the Technical Committee and the Thematic Working Groups. Members were Mr. G. Zimalirana, Mr. P. Kamwendo, Mr. P. Kabambe, Mr. C. Simwaka, Mr. B. Botolo, Mrs. P. Zimpita, Mr. E. Goneka, Mr. K. Mulwafu, Mr. T. Leeming, Mr. T. Nandolo, Mr. S. Lembani, Mr. M. Tsoka, Mr. S. Mwale, Mr. M. Muyepa, Mr. N. Nyirenda, and Mr. M. Bamusi.

Funding for the process was provided by Government together with several donor partners, including the UK Department for International Development, United States Agency for International Development, Danish International Development Agency, Canadian International Development Agency, Norweigan Agency for Development, Japan International Cooperation Agency, World Bank and the United Nations Development Programme.

Acknowledgements should also go to all the stakeholders who provided their time and ideas in the preparation process, including national level and district level consultations. Special mention goes to the Secretary to the President and Cabinet who provided guidance throughout the process.

Finally, this document would not have been produced if not for the commitment and interest of His Excellency the President Dr. Bakili Muluzi, and the Right Honourable Vice President, Mr. Justin C. Malewezi.